September 3, 2019 | Press Release

FDD Names Board of Advisors to Help Guide Center on Cyber and Technology Innovation

September 3, 2019 | Press Release

FDD Names Board of Advisors to Help Guide Center on Cyber and Technology Innovation

(Washington, DC, September 3, 2019)The Foundation for Defense of Democracies (FDD) today announced 21 experts who will serve as members of the Board of Advisors for its Center on Cyber and Technology Innovation (CCTI). These advisors will provide strategic counsel and help shape FDD research and analysis on the ways that technological innovation advances U.S. prosperity and security and how to counter the cyber threats that seek to diminish it.

CCTI promotes a greater understanding within the U.S. government, private sector, and allied countries of the threats and opportunities to national security posed by the rapidly expanding technological environment and works to find ways for closer cooperation and partnership between and amongst these elements to meet these evolving challenges. CCTI conducts research on the intersection between cyber operations and economic warfare and aims to convert the urgent needs faced by our society, our economy, and our defense establishment into transformative solutions for those vulnerabilities.

CCTI is led by Chairman Dr. Samantha Ravich, who serves concurrently as the vice chair of the President’s Intelligence Advisory Board and as a member of the congressionally mandated Cyberspace Solarium Commission and the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board. The Transformative Cyber Innovation Lab, a central project of CCTI, is led by Dr. Michael Hsieh. FDD CEO Mark Dubowitz serves as a senior advisor.

CCTI’s advisory board members include former senior government officials, CEOs, and leading scholars in law, security, and technology.

“Private industry is on the front-lines of the cyber battlespace, and it is therefore crucially important that the think tank community provide the U.S. government with policy ideas that are not only evidence based but also incorporate a private sector’s perspective,” Ravich explained. “By bringing together some of the best minds from both government and industry, CCTI aims to provide concrete technical and non-technical solutions to raise the cyber resilience of the national security industrial base and society as a whole.”

Advisory board members provide insights on current cyber threat trends, what the U.S. government and private companies are seeing on the ground, and concrete policy and technical ideas.

“We are very excited to have this distinguished group working with FDD to help guide the Center on Cyber and Technology Innovation,” Dubowitz said. “These experts will be called on to help us identify research, analysis, and pilot projects that can help solve vulnerabilities in the public and private sectors.”

The full biographies of the members of the Board of Advisors can be found here.

FDD Center on Cyber and Technology Innovation Board of Advisors

Stewart Baker – former General Counsel, National Security Agency

John P. Carlin – former Assistant Attorney General for the U.S. Department of Justice’s National Security Division

Steven Chabinsky – former Deputy Assistant Director of the FBI’s Cyber Division; former member, White House Commission on Enhancing National Cybersecurity

Frank Cilluffo – Director, McCrary Institute for Cyber & Critical Infrastructure Security at Auburn University; member, Cyberspace Solarium Commission

Giovanna M. Cinelli – Partner, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP

Ted Craver – Retired Chairman, President, and CEO of Edison International

Dr. Emily Goldman – Policy Planning Staff, Department of State; Director of the U.S. Cyber Command/National Security Agency Combined Action Group.

Gen. Michael V. Hayden – former Director of the Central Intelligence Agency and the National Security Agency.

Todd Hinnen – Chair of the privacy and data security practice at Perkins Coie

Jamil Jaffer – Founder, National Security Institute at George Mason University’s Antonin Scalia Law School; former Chief Counsel and Senior Advisor for the Senate Foreign Relations Committee

Herbert Lin – Senior Research Scholar for cyber policy and security, Center for International Security and Cooperation; former member, White House Commission on Enhancing National Cybersecurity

Michael Madon – SVP and GM for Security Awareness and Threat Intelligence Products, Mimecast; former Deputy Assistant Secretary, Intelligence at the Department of the Treasury

Raj Shah – former Managing Partner, Defense Innovation Unit Experimental, Department of Defense

David Shedd – former Acting Director of the Defense Intelligence Agency

Suzanne Spaulding – former Under Secretary for the National Protection and Programs Directorate, Department of Homeland Security

Matthew Spence – Managing Director, Guggenheim Partners; former Senior Director for International Economic Affairs on the National Security Council

V.S. Subrahmanian – Distinguished Professor in Cybersecurity, Technology, and Society, Dartmouth College

Dan Wachtler – CEO of DarkLight Inc, an artificial intelligence expert system for active cyber defense

Alan Wade – former Chief Information Officer, Central Intelligence Agency 

Doug Wood – Chief Engineer, Ursa Space Systems; former Implementation and Sustainment Executive at Defense Information Systems Agency, Department of Defense

Juan Zarate – Chairman and co-founder of FDD’s Center on Economic and Financial Power (CEFP); former Deputy National Security Advisor for Combating Terrorism

To arrange an interview, contact [email protected].


About FDD

The Foundation for Defense of Democracies (FDD) is a Washington, DC-based nonpartisan policy institute focusing on national security and foreign policy. Visit our website at and connect with us on TwitterFacebook, and YouTube.


Blockchain and Digital Currencies Cyber Cyber-Enabled Economic Warfare